Who is Veruca Salt?

Veruca Salt, as most of you will know, was the spoiled child in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory who gets thrown down a rubbish chute by a bunch of squirrels (or geese, if you watched the 1971 film).

Veruca Salt is also the name of a rather good but mostly-forgotten 90s grunge band, which probably tells you a little bit about my age.

But for the purposes of this blog, Veruca Salt is me, a mental health practitioner in CAMHS – Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services for those of you who don’t do acronyms. I’ll be using this blog to talk about the mental health and emotional wellbeing of kids.

First, a few things to stop me getting into trouble with employers and/or regulators:

Any views I express here are in a personal capacity and are not necessarily the views of my employer.

If I mention any clinical anecdotes, you can guarantee that it will have been heavily fictionalised and anonymised to protect confidentiality. Details will have been changed. Different cases will have been merged into one. Some things may have been outright made up. If an anecdote sounds like it might be you, then it’s not you.

Nothing I say here should be considered medical advice. That’s what your own GP or CAMHS is for.

 

With that in mind, read on…

4 responses to “Who is Veruca Salt?

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere.

    Cheers,

    Stuart

  2. I manage a site for “Daughters of Vietnam Veterans”, and we will be supporting your page. Found you on the fb site for “Overcoming Sexual Trauma.” Hope you will blog about inter-generational combat trauma! We need more sites like this!

  3. Hi Laura. Is this your site? http://dovv.us/

    I must confess I don’t know a great deal about inter-generational combat trauma. It’s something I haven’t come across clinically as of yet, but I’d certainly be interested to hear more about it.

Leave a Reply

