Sunday Soundtrack: Ghostpoet

I was tempted to have a PJ Harvey track as this week’s Sunday Soundtrack. Certainly I think she was a well-deserved winner of the Mercury Prize this week. Let England Shake was one of my favourite albums of the year so far.

However, given the acres of media coverage she’s received as a result of winning, I thought I’d instead give a shout-out to one of the more obscure Mercury nominees.

Ghostpoet intrigues me. There’s a thoughtfulness to his work that I find quite alluring.

Speaking of highlighting the non-obvious, I’ve also been reading this article on the other, forgotten 9/11 tragedy. The one that happened in Chile in 1973. I can’t say I’m a fan of Atrocity Top Trumps, but it did make me think about how, horrific as 9/11 was, it certainly wasn’t the unique event it’s sometimes portrayed as.

Also this week I’ve been reading the blog of Laurie Penny, a feminist writer who both intrigues and infuriates me in equal measure. Just recently she turned down an offer to appear on Celebrity Big Brother. Just yesterday she announced she’s on board a ship heading to the Arctic Circle.

Sounds like a wise choice. I think I’d rather be trapped on an ice floe with a rampaging polar bear than stuck in a house with Jedward and Kerry Katona.

Leave a Reply

